The Bantam Menace

DSCF0580Another week, another trip to London, this time for the BASR committee meeting, and a raw food lunch at Camden’s Spiral Café. While I was there, I managed to squeeze in an interview for the Religious Studies Project with Titus Hjelm on ‘Social Constructionism’, to be broadcast soon.

Other than that, it was another week of crushing ants, as I try to get all my small commitments out of the way to be able to focus on my monograph. I’m teaching on “New and Alternative” religions to the 1st years at Edinburgh for three weeks starting next monday, so the next month or so will largely be taken up with that and finishing up writing introductions and final editing for After World Religions and my edited edition of Nova Religio.

And I got tickets to see King Crimson play. Which means I will achieve 2 out of 3 remaining ambitions this year – all I need now is a Victorian villa with its own forest.

The Week in MIllennial Conspiracism:

An interview with Nexus editor Duncan Roads on his new venture, the Alternative News Project, and his assessment of “mankind’s true history”.

Conspiracies, UFOs and “disclosure” – Oh my! Joseph, P. Farrell, “THE BLACK KNIGHT SATELLITE STAGES A COMEBACK, BUT WHY NOW?”

Two British children allege abuse by a Satanic ritual ring. The allegations are remarkably similar to the Satanic Ritual Abuse scare of the 1990s. In the wake of the Savile case, are we witnessing a revival of this conspiratorial moral panic?

Citizenfour – Channel 4’s inside scoop on the Edward Snowden affair.

The Flat Earth Conspiracy – full-length documentary.

Leave a Reply

